4 Comments

Threshing Season

“Simon, Simon, Satan has asked to sift each of you like wheat. But I have pleaded in prayer for you Simon that your faith should not fail. So when you have repented and turned to me again, strengthen your brothers.”
Luke 22:31-32

My mind quickly thumbs through the pages of my mental Bible back to Job. The enemy had approached God about Job and desired to sift him too. The devil wanted to prove that Job would relinquish his stand of faith in God, if he had access to him for a season. God permitted it to happen. However, the devil was overcome because he failed to recognize the Author and Finisher of Job’s faith. And it wasn’t Job.

The enemy used same tactic on Peter in the verses from Luke. Although his faith would have to stand trial, the Author and Finisher had closed the book on the matter. Peter would overcome and his faith would not fail, because Jesus had already prayed and commanded that his faith would not only withstand the threshing, but also be strengthened by the trial.

There are many of us who can at least relate to Peter in this situation, if not the extremity of Job. Certainly, the enemy has desired to lay hold of us–even our faith. The goal is to shake, sift, thrash and try us until we break off from The Vine in which we are engrafted. But, Jesus who lives forever to intercede with God on our behalf has already written the conclusion of our ultimate victory. The same Source of Job and Peter’s faith is the Source of ours. He has prayed for us too that our faith would not fail.

Also true, WHEN our faith has stood trial and overcome the tactics of our common enemy, we are responsible to use our experience to help someone else. Encouraging others to exercise their faith in resistance of the attack of the devil becomes our testimony when our own faith has been tried and proven. So you see, the test of our faith is not only for us, but it is also for those that we will have to strengthen, so that they too can become more than conquerors through Him that loved us.

If the trial of your faith is at its breaking point, and your confidence in God begins to wane, then remember that the Author and Finisher of your faith has prayed for you that your faith will not fail!  Nothing shall be able to separate you from the love of God, so be strong in the Lord and in the power of His might. If we understand that God’s might includes all of His power, all of His authority and all of His resources, then we have no reason to fear the attempted shakedowns of the enemy. Our end has already been written from the beginning.

Who is more than conqueror? An overcomer.

Sword Sharpener: Romans 8:26-39

©2012 LR Rodgers All Rights Reserved.

4 comments on “Threshing Season

  1. Man this was really good!…needed a reminder just at this moment..LOL..this blog will help somebody, thru all the shakings, and battles, we must keep in mind that He got us and I’ve come to realize even more that the attempt to sift is for a reason not only for me but as you said for others. I’ve come across people lately where, my testimony or experiences have been called out to share and it makes you see your real purpose, first to worship God then to help others get to know him. It’s not in the Grand performances, titles, famed name( Bishop/Prophet/Apostle elect of the Most High Priest of the Holy Living God in the Garden of Eden stuff…lolol….even tho they have there proper place, but to be a servant and do what God has asked of us….some shakings have caused me to open my heart more with compassion for others, no matter their story…so i know Im being changed from the inside out….Still got my little fro going sometimes but it’s in it’s proper place too…hahahahaha Anyway, thank you for these encouraging thoughts that makes you think, thank God and press forward…Love ya :).

  2. Just to add, Thankful, grateful, that Jesus prayed for me….that my faith won’t fail!!! I am an overcomer!!!

    • Thanks Mignonette for commenting on this post. Its so true, reminders of what Christ has done and is doing for us keeps our feet on the ground and anchored. Thank God that even when we feel like we have been abandoned, Christ is STILL making intercession for us. I’m so glad that this post encouraged you. Hang in there, because your Daddy’s has got you now!

  3. Pastor LaTonya, that was an one time Word for me! I have read and heard this passage Romans 8:24-39, but today I read something I never understood. GOD is all three GOD, JESUS, HOLY SPIRIT. So when the HOLY SPIRIT prays that’s GOD praying for me. HE not only loves and cares for me, but HE is praying for my faith to be strengthen in HIM. That’s like playing the lotto and the CEO of it give me the winning numbers every time. As long as I have faith, I’m praying and GOD is praying, I can’t lose. If I do it’s because I gave up on GOD not HIM giving up on me. WOW!!!! Thank you and continued to be blessed! love u Paster 🙂

Share Your Thoughts